My Reading Timeline

Image from Unsplash

Five minutes of reading? That’s so long, my younger self would say. If I were forced to read a book I would choose an extremely short graphic novel. I loved to use my imagination but when it was time to read I would do anything but use my imagination. I would try to get out of my comfort zone sometimes and read a chapter book but I could never get past the first page. I would read chapter books like how Siri would say something because I just couldn’t use my imagination.  I’m in the 6th grade now and I absolutely love to read. I feel like I am a good reader but I know that there are a few things that I could work on. For instance,  I could work on reading more often and also read more than just graphic novels. 

Two of my favorite books that I’ve read are Ghost by Jason Reynolds and The Summer of Broken Rules by  K. L.  Walther. Both of these books are realistic fiction books but are totally different. Ghost is a book about a little boy who runs track and struggles in life a lot. The Summer of Broken Rules is about a girl who’s big sister died and her and her family goes back to the place she loved the most and she finds herself, happiness, and love again. 

I read because it brings me out of reality and allows me to go into someone else’s view of the world. When I read I have to be in a comfortable and quiet space or else I can’t concentrate or enjoy my reality snatcher. One of my favorite memories of reading is when I went to my grandma’s house and we drank hot chocolate and read books together. My grandma and dad have inspired my reading so much and I love them for it. Now I own over 30 books and I’ve read 4  chapter books over the summer. 

At school we get little time to read and we’re always inside when reading. I’d love it if one day my class could go outside and read and one day have the class read the whole class period. If I had to choose a book character to be friends with I would choose Claire from The Summer of Broken Rules because I love her quirky and shy personality and how we have a lot of things in common. If you had to choose a book character to be friends with, who would you choose? Please answer this question in the comments section below.

2 thoughts on “My Reading Timeline

  1. 30nayap says:

    If I had to choose a character to be friends with I would choose Meg from A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle, she is so clever, funny, and a little bit shy. This was an amazing post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *